Yiddish Open Mic Café

The Yiddish Open Mic Café is a participatory Yiddish jamboree of songs, poems, jokes, stories, games, serious and funny, all in Yiddish, but with English translation. We have been meeting monthly since April 2018, both via Zoom and in London.

17 March 2024 – 64th Edition

דער 64סטן ייִדישער אָפֿענער־מיקראָפֿאָן קאַפֿע

To perform or join the audience, please register at: http://tinyurl.com/28yjt9wp

Sunday 17 March, 2024 on Zoom

Material will be presented in Yiddish, with Yiddish and English texts on the screen. 

  4 pm UK         9 am PST         12 pm EST 

1 pm ART       17:00 CET         18:00 IST

 This Month’s Theme: Purim Fun and Frolics 

Join lovers of Yiddish from all over the world to celebrate Purim with songs, poetry, stories, jokes, games and more. Wear a costume and bring a gragger.

We welcome old and new performers to participate, whether on the theme or not. 

Please send your presentations of up to 6 minutes in PowerPoint or Word in both Yiddish (oysyes or transliteration) and English translation, to openmic@yiddishcafe.com by Wednesday, March 13. 

We are happy to translate your material, time permitting. 

 Questions? Contact us at openmic@yiddishcafe.com

About us

The Yiddish Open Mic Café is a participatory Yiddish jamboree of songs, poems, jokes, stories, games, serious and funny, all in Yiddish, but with English translation.

The Yiddish Open Mic Café has been meeting monthly since April 2018, becoming an event accessible world-wide through Zoom. We regularly have an audience and participants from all parts of the UK, as well as from Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Israel, Mexico, Poland, Russia, South Africa, Ukraine and the USA.

Whether you are a Yiddish student, teacher, scholar, or someone who heard a word or a phrase at home from parents or grandparents, or whether you are simply interested, all are welcome to be part of the audience or have a turn at the mic, in front of a warm and friendly audience.

Some performers contribute their own work, others perform songs/stories/poems/sketches written by others, including material from well-known Yiddish writers. Participants range from people starting to learn Yiddish, to those for whom Yiddish is their mother tongue.

Contributions Welcomed!

Sign up early to contribute. We are very happy to welcome new presenters and delighted that others have become regulars. Please indicate your interest early so we can make sure your name goes onto the list. Each contribution (song, story, poetry, sketch, etc) should not last longer than about 6 minutes.

Before the Open Mic, we will need a version of your presentation with an English translation; the Yiddish may be in Yiddish letters or transliteration. We use this material to make PowerPoint slides to accompany your contribution.

Please send your material to us at openmic@yiddishcafe.com in either Word or PowerPoint, no later than the Tuesday before the Open Mic.  If you have difficulties sending the material, just let us know and we will help to sort out any complications.

Past recordings

You can find recordings of our previous programmes on our YouTube channel.

The recording of the 56th Open Mic Café in May 2023
The recording of the 55th Open Mic Café in April 2023